Innogen · People · Innogen Associates
Professor Bruce Whitelaw

Professor of Animal Biotechnology

+44 (0)131 651 9100

The Roslin Institute and R(D)SVS
University of Edinburgh
Easter Bush Campus
EH25 9RG

Bruce Whitelaw was awarded a BSc degree in Medical Microbiology (Virology elective) from the University of Edinburgh in 1982 and his PhD in 1987 from the University of Glasgow.

His thesis title “The regulation of the myc proto-oncogene” focussed on the molecular biology of gene activation; a theme he has maintained throughout his career through the development and application of gene expression systems in transgenic animals.

His first appointment was to the AFRC’s Animal Breeding Research Organisation working on the then novel idea of producing human pharmaceutical proteins in animal bioreactors. Subsequently working at the BBRSC’s Institute of Animal Physiology and Genetics Research, then The Roslin Institute where he has been Head of Division of Developmental Biology since 2005, and a Deputy Director since 2013. He currently holds the Genus Chair in Animal Biotechnology at the University of Edinburgh.

Recently Bruce has pioneered the use of lentivirus vectors for transgene delivery and more recently genome editors for precise genetic engineering of livestock. He seeks to apply this technology in the field of animal biotechnology, specifically to develop novel ways to combat infectious disease in animals, evaluate strategies to enhance overall reproductive efficiency and explore opportunities to develop new treatments of disease through appropriate genetically engineered animal models.

Bruce is a member of the Jury selecting the BBVA Foundation’s Frontiers of Science Award in Biomedicine, has a Visiting Faculty position at India’s DBT National Institute of Animal Biotechnology in Hyderabad, is Editor-in-Chief of Transgenic Research, on the Scientific Advisory Board of Immunogenes Ag and Recombinetics Inc, a Director of Edinburgh Research and Innovation (a University of Edinburgh subsidiary) and a Fellow of the Society of Biology.